Sustainable living. learning. researching

Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health

The University course will give the students a deeper basic knowledge based on current insights of the most important topics/aspects of Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning as well as basic knowledge of medicine and biomedical research. The course is intended to serve as a basis for Artificial Intelligence for a more in-depth treatment of various theories and technologies to build an AI system in medicine and biomedical research and to implement new findings in practice.

Graduates are enabled to work at the interfaces between medicine and AI-technology in companies or research centres and develop new intelligent applications for medicine and/or biomedical research. Graduates of the University course Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health (Human-Centerd AI/ML in Health) can:

  • recognise an awareness for technology in the fields of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in health care and act adequately upon it
  • develop people-orientated and institutional concepts in the area of human-centred AI in health care, with a great focus on Ethics, responsibility on the rights of privacy and security (human-in-control approach)
  • conceive a definition of application-oriented AI and ML in medicine and to define the application - develope concepts for a safe ethical application of AI and ML in medicine, while considering all norms and regulations - define medical problems and use AI or ML as its solution
  • use different medical or health-related parameters, which include progression of the disease, the effectiveness of the treatment, safety, the quality of life, the individual patient preferences for algorithms for decision making
  • understand analysis in medicine and choose a suitable model type for a specific medical or health-related matter
  • conceptualize and apply AI and ML-modeling using practical examples for medicine and health
  • develop a basic understanding of AI and ML in drug-design and recognize its practical significance
  • develop a basic understanding for the complementary usage of human and artificial intelligence in medicine and recognize its relevance in practice
  • acquire basics to read, understand and assess research reports/articles on AI/ML and on insights in medicine and diagnostics
  • encourage interdisciplinary teamwork and to find solutions for a constructive approach to conflicts
  • plan necessary structural and economical factors in order to participate in the designing processes

The use of technology for Artificial Intelligence (AI) in our society is widespread, mainly due to successes in Machine Learning (ML) (e.g. driverless cars, personal assistants, monitoring systems, robot manufacturing, machine translation, cyber security, web search, etc.). Such applications use technologies of Artificial Intelligence, to interpret information of a variety of sources and enable an intelligent and targeted behaviour. Thereby great importance is also attached to looking at new technologies by a “human in control” approach and transmit values such as an ethical and responsible use of new technologies and data security and data security issues. Also, in health care and research, AI and ML technologies have reached the working environment of treating physicians and researchers. That way it is hoped that in many specialist fields of medicine and research, with a focused use of technical possibilities, new and better treatment plans for individual patients can be adapted. Especially in this area, a “human in control” approach is important – new technologies are to support physicians and not to replace them. The final decision still lies with the medical expert. It is therefore even more important, that the expert has all the necessary competences in order to understand the data and its decision making and to assess the information correctly. For the development of these new technologies it is of similar importance, to have a better understanding of the data and findings of algorithms so that they can be construed better by technicians. In future the integration of AI and ML technologies in medicine, lies in a human-centred AI approach and interactive Machine Learning (“human-in-control”) with knowledge of ethical approaches in this area, data protection and data security. For graduates of the university course Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health (Human-Centerd AI/ML in Health), the following professional fields are of relevance:

  • Medical informatics – Application of informatics to process medical data and simulations of biological processes by applying AI and ML in various areas (diagnostic imaging systems, hospital information systems, medical knowledge systems, data analysis for DNA sequencing, various systems of AI, telemedicine, simulations of modern therapeutic methods … )
  • IT project management – to accompany IT projects from the planning stage to the implementation of software in medicine, medical research, diagnostic, genomics
  • Software architecture – for planning, developing and further developing medical software
  • Medicine –for consulting and product development of medical and diagnostic software incorporating AI and ML
  • Medical research - for consulting and product development of medical and diagnostic software incorporating AI and ML

The University course Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health (Human-Centerd AI/ML in Health) addresses the following:

  • people, who already have a Bachelor-degree in Medicine, Natural Science or technical studies and
  • already in this area working physicians, researchers, bioinformaticians and IT developers, with a minimum of two years of working experience

Degreee from

  • a subject-relevant Bachelor's study, or
  • a subject-relevant Diploma study, or
  • a subject-relevant Bachelor’s study of an advanced technical college (minimum 180 ECTS), or
  • a subject-relevant Diploma study of an advanced technical college (minimum 180 ECTS), or
  • a Diploma study of an equivalent programme at a recognized nationally or internationally accepted tertiary education institution (in accordance to the Austrian University Law §64 Abs 5 UG idgF) and a relevant two year work experience is essential.
  • The study management can confirm one of the qualifications defined in the points above. To meet this condition it is necessary to have gained the post-secondary school Diploma corresponding to the University entrance level of an Austrian University or a University of Applied Science (analogue § 64 UG as amended) and a minimum of a three year subject relevant work experience.

The course is held in English. Therefore, a good understanding of English is required.

The university course:

  • is a part-time postgraduate programme offered as a distance learning course,
  • is designed to be completed alongside full-time work,
  • is completed within two semesters of the study,
  • comprises 6 modules, and
  • includes a diploma of the Medical University of Graz.
  • AI fundamentals
  • ML fundamentals
  • Applied AI / ML for Bioinformatics and Biomedical Data Science
  • AI Ethics, Explainability and Causability
  • Medical Fundamentals
  • Biomedical Research and Drug Design

After the successful completion of all the credits provided for in the curriculum the graduate receives a diploma from the Medical University of Graz.

€ 5.950,--

Registration for the university course starting in winter semester 2021/22 will be possible until 30.06.2021.

  • Muniverse
  • VMC Moodle
  • Forschungportal
  • MEDonline
  • Library

Postgraduate School

Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health

Der Universitätslehrgang soll den Studierenden ein vertieftes, auf aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen beruhendes Basiswissen über die wichtigsten Themen/Aspekte sowohl von Artificial Intellegence und Machine Learning als auch ein Basiswissen der Medizin und von biomedizinischer Forschung geben. Der Universitätslehrgang soll als Grundlage dienen, künstliche Intelligenz für eine eingehendere Behandlung spezifischer Theorien und Technologien zum Aufbau eines AI Systems in der Medizin und der biomedizinischen Forschung und die Umsetzung neuer Erkenntnisse in die Praxis vermitteln.

Die Absolventinnen und Absolventen werden befähigt in Unternehmen oder Forschungszentren an den Schnittstellen zwischen Medizin und AI-Technologien zu arbeiten und neuartige intelligente Anwendungen für die Medizin und/oder Biomedizinische Forschung zu entwickeln.

Sie sind in der Lage:

  • ein Grundverständnis über wesentliche Methoden von Artificial Intelligence (AI) und Machine Learning (ML) zu entwickeln und deren Bedeutung für die Praxis zu erkennen
  • personenorientierte und institutionelle Konzepte im Bereich der Human-centered AI im Gesundheitswesen zu entwickeln mit einem speziellen Fokus auf Ethik und Verantwortungsbewusstsein für die Rechte auf Privatsphäre und Sicherheit (Human-in-control Ansatz)
  • Definitionen für anwendungsnahe AI und ML in der Medizin zu konzipieren und Anwendung zu definieren
  • Konzepte zur ethisch sicheren Anwendung von AI und ML in der Medizin, unter Berücksichtigung aller Normen und Vorschriften, zu entwickeln
  • medizinische Probleme zu definieren und AI oder ML als derer Lösung vorzuschlagen
  • verschiedene medizinische und gesundheitliche Parameter, welche Krankheitsverlauf, Wirksamkeit der Behandlung, Sicherheit, Lebensqualität, individuelle Patientenpräferenzen für Algorithmen zur Entscheidungsfindung inkludieren, zu verwenden
  • Analyse in der Medizin zu verstehen und den geeigneten Modelltyp für eine spezielle medizinische oder gesundheitsbezogene Frage zu wählen
  • AI- und ML-Modellierungen anhand von praktischen Beispielen für Medizin und Gesundheit zu konzipieren und anzuwenden
  • ein Grundverständnis von ML/AI für das Drug Design zu entwickeln und die Bedeutung für die Praxis zu erkennen
  • ein Grundverständnis für den komplementären Einsatz von menschlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz in der Medizin zu entwickeln und die Bedeutung für die Praxis zu erkennen
  • Grundlagen zu erwerben, um Forschungsberichte/-artikel sowohl zu AI/ML als auch zu Erkenntnissen in der Medizin und Diagnostik zu lesen, zu verstehen und zu bewerten
  • interdisziplinäre Teamarbeit zu fördern und Lösungen für einen konstruktiven Umgang mit Konflikten zu finden
  • notwendige strukturelle und wirtschaftliche Faktoren zu planen, um an Gestaltungsprozessen teilnehmen zu können

Die Verwendung von Technologien für Artificial Intelligence (AI) ist in unserer Gesellschaft weit verbreitet, vor allem durch Erfolge des Machine Learnings (ML) (z. B. selbstfahrende Autos, persönliche Assistenten, Überwachungssysteme, Roboterfertigung, maschinelle Übersetzung, Cybersicherheit, Websuche, etc.). Solche Anwendungen verwenden Techniken der künstlichen Intelligenz, um Informationen aus einer Vielzahl von Quellen zu interpretieren und intelligentes, zielgerichtetes Verhalten zu ermöglichen. Dabei wird auch großen Wert darauf gelegt, neue Technologien von einem „Human in control“ Ansatz zu betrachten und Werte wie einen ethischen und verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit neuen Technologien und Datenschutz und Datensicherheitsaspekten zu vermitteln. Auch in der medizinischen Versorgung und Forschung haben AI und ML Technologien die Arbeitswelt der behandelnden Medizinnerinnen und Mediziner sowie Forscherinnen und Forscher erreicht. So erhofft man sich in vielen Fachgebieten der Medizin und Forschung durch einen gezielten Einsatz der technischen Möglichkeiten neue, besser an die einzelnen Patientinnen und Patienten angepasste Behandlungskonzepte. Wichtig ist dabei gerade in diesem Gebiet ein „Human in control“ Ansatz – die neuen Technologien sollen die Medizinerinnen und Mediziner bei der Diagnosefindung und Therapieentscheidung unterstützen und nicht ersetzen. Die endgültige Entscheidung liegt aber nach wie vor bei den Medizinerinnen und Medizinern. Daher ist es umso wichtiger, dass diese die notwendigen Kompetenzen besitzen, um einerseits die Daten und andererseits die darauf beruhenden Entscheidungsfindungsprozesse zu verstehen und richtig einzuschätzen. Genauso wichtig ist es aber auch für die Entwicklung dieser neuen Technologien, dass die Daten und die Findung der Algorithmen von Technikerinnen und Technikern besser verstanden und somit besser interpretiert werden können.

Die Zukunft der Integration von AI und ML Technologien in der Medizin liegt somit in einem Human-Centred AI-Ansatz und interactive Machine Learning („human-in-control“) mit Wissen über ethische Ansätze in diesem Bereich, Datenschutz und Datensicherheit.

Für die Absolventinnen und Absolventen des Universitätslehrgangs Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health (Human-Centerd AI/ML in Health) sind beispielsweise folgende Berufsfelder relevant:

  • Medizininformatik – Anwendung der Informatik auf die Verarbeitung medizinischer Daten , Simulationen von biologischen Prozessen durch die Anwendung von AI und ML für die verschiedenste Bereiche (Bildgebende Diagnosesysteme, Krankenhausinformationssysteme, Medizinische Wissenssysteme, Datenanalyse zur DNA Sequenzierung, verschiedenster Systeme der AI, Telemedizin, Simulationen von modernen Therapieverfahren…)
  • IT Projektleitung - zur Begleitung von IT-Projekten - Planungsstadium bis zur Inbetriebnahme für Software in Medizin, medizinischer Forschung, Diagnostik und Genomik
  • Softwarearchitektur - für die Planung, Entwicklung und Weiterentwicklung von medizinischer Software
  • Medizin - zur Beratung und Produktentwicklung medizinischer und diagnostischer Software unter Einbeziehung von AI und ML
  • Medizin-Forschung - zur Beratung und Produktentwicklung medizinischer und diagnostischer Software unter Einbeziehung von AI und ML

Der Universitätslehrgang Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) in Health (Human-Centerd AI/ML in Health) wendet sich an:

  • Personen, die einen Bachelorabschluss in Medizin oder ein naturwissenschaftliches Studium bzw. technisches Studium haben und
  • bereits in diesem Umfeld tätige Medizinerinnen und Mediziner, Forscherinnen und Forscher, Bioinformatikerinnen und Bioinformatiker sowie IT Entwicklerinnen und IT Entwickler mit einer mindestens zweijährigen Berufspraxis

Abschluss

  • eines facheinschlägigen Bachelorstudiums oder
  • eines facheinschlägigen Diplomstudiums oder
  • eines facheinschlägigen Fachhochschul-Bachelorstudiengangs (mind. 180 ECTS) oder
  • eines facheinschlägigen Fachhochschul-Diplomstudiengangs (mind. 180 ECTS) oder
  • eines anderen gleichwertigen facheinschlägigen Studiums an einer anerkannten inländischen oder ausländischen postsekundären Bildungseinrichtung (analog §64 Abs 5 UG idgF) und einer zweijährigen einschlägigen Berufspraxis
  • eine entsprechend gleichwertige Qualifikation kann in begründeten Einzelfällen von der Lehrgangsleitung bestätigt werden. Voraussetzung ist jedenfalls die allgemeine Hochschulreife für österreichische Universitäten oder Fachhochschulen (analog § 64 UG idgF) und eine mindestens dreijährige einschlägige Berufspraxis.

Die Fähigkeiten zum Studium englischsprachiger Unterlagen beziehungsweise die Teilnahme an Unterrichtseinheiten in englischer Sprache werden vorausgesetzt.

Der Universitätslehrgang wird berufsbegleitend angeboten

  • umfasst 2 Semester
  • gliedert sich in 6 Module
  • beinhaltet ein Abschlusszeugnis der Medizinischen Universität Graz
  • AI fundamentals
  • ML fundamentals
  • Applied AI / ML for Bioinformatics and Biomedical Data Science
  • AI Ethics, Explainability and Causability
  • Medical Fundamentals
  • Biomedical Research and Drug Design

Nach positiver Erbringung sämtlicher, im gegenständlichen Curriculum vorgesehener Leistungsnachweise erhält die Absolventin/der Absolvent

ein Abschlusszeugnis der Medizinischen Universität Graz.

€ 5.950,--

Anmeldungen für den Universitätslehrgang mit Start im Wintersemester 2021/22 sind bis zum 30.06.2021 möglich.

  • TEXT
  • TEXT
  • TEXT
  • TEXT
  • TEXT